Crown Prince Court







History of the UAE


 

Previously, the UAE, territorially speaking, formed a part of the Sultanate of Oman. From the 17th Century onwards, the Arabian Gulf became a valuable strategic stopping point for merchant seafarers travelling between Europe and Asia. In 1892, the sheikhdoms of the UAE, which were known at the time as “the Trucial States”, joined together to sign a treaty with Great Britain. Under this treaty, agreed to protect the coastline against any maritime-based aggression and help counteract any land-based attack. 

In 1968, announced it would withdraw from the region. In an initiative led by the late Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan, the United Arab Emirates officially came into being on December 2, 1971, a date which is celebrated every year as the 'UAE National Day'. The Federation originally comprised six emirates: Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Ajman, Umm Al Quwain and Fujairah with the Emirate of Ras Al Khaimah joining to become the seventh Emirate the following year.

Since its formation, the UAE has witnessed tremendous development, both visibly and economically. With the discovery of oil and natural gas, both on land and in its water, the country moved away from its earlier dependence on pearl diving, fishing and agriculture, and into an economy dominated by natural resources. Today, the UAE has transitioned again into a diversely productive economy that is based on internationally-emerging knowledge and future energy. Furthermore, the UAE’s population has graduated from poverty to one of the highest income levels in the world. The nation has seen pioneering developments that have garnered world-wide attention. Recent statistics confirm that the UAE has become a globally prominent financial and economic centre.

The UAE’s rapid economic development has significantly contributed to promoting the status of UAE citizens, in particular women. Equal opportunities exist in education and workplace choices and fair working conditions for UAE National men and women are now enshrined in law. Women have notably increased their representation and now account for 22.2% of the seats in the present Council, one of the highest rates of female parliamentary representation in the Middle East and a high figure by any current global standard.  The UAE is the top ranking country in the Arab World, and one of the highest ranking globally, in the Gender Empowerment Index, issued by the United Nations Development Program (UNDP).

The UAE is intensifying its efforts to diversify its energy resources through  informed investment in new energy sources, including nuclear power and renewable energy. In this context, the UAE has established ENEC (Emirates Nuclear Energy Corporation) to develop innovative solutions in renewable and alternative energy. Additionally, the UAE has taken important steps in the development of a peaceful nuclear program, by signing nuclear cooperation agreements with the United States and South Korea to establish four nuclear power plants worth US$20.4 billion by the year 2020. In June 2009, Abu Dhabi, the UAE capital, was chosen to host the headquarters of the International Agency for Renewable Energies (IRENA). The UAE is the first country in the region to play the host of such an important international organization.

The UAE has also witnessed tremendous growth in the education field during the past four decades. Today, all male and female UAE Nationals enjoy free public education at all levels, including an entitlement to free higher education at public universities and colleges. A number of high-profile and internationally renowned academic institutions have also launched campuses in the UAE in recent years, opening up truly world-class educational opportunities to local residents.

Similar growth has been experienced in healthcare. Forty years ago, the provision of healthcare services was limited and hospital care almost non-existent. In recent years, the government has developed an extensive network of multi-disciplinary hospitals and clinics all over the country. With the development of this sector, infant mortality rates have dropped significantly, childbirth mortality rates are at zero, and the population now enjoys a considerably higher life expectancy.

Crown Prince Court






تاريخ دولة الإمارات


 

يرتبط تاريخ دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة المعاصرة بتاريخ "ساحل عمان"، والذي يضم في يومنا هذا سلطنة عمان ودولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. ففي القرن السابع عشر وما بعده أصبح الخليج العربي محطة توقف إستراتيجية ومهمة لسفن التجار المسافرين بين أوروبا وآسيا، وفي عام 1892، انضمت الإمارات التي كانت تعرف حتى ذلك الوقت بـ "إمارات الساحل المتصالح" معاً لتوقع معاهدة مع بريطانيا العظمى، تقوم بموجبها بريطانيا العظمى بحماية السواحل البحرية ضد أي عدوان بحري وتوفر الدعم والمساندة ضد أي عدوان بري لهذه الإمارات.

وفيما بعد خلال العام 1968، أعلنت بريطانيا أنها ستنهي علاقتها التعاهدية مع إمارات الساحل المتصالح وقطر والبحرين، وستنسحب من منطقة الخليج العربي. وبمبادرة من المغفور له الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان، تم تأسيس دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة في الثاني من ديسمبر 1971، التاريخ الذي تحتفل به الدولة كل عام بعيدها الوطني، كدولة اتحادية مكونة من ست إمارات، هي: أبوظبي، ودبي، والشارقة، وعجمان، وأم القيوين، والفجيرة. وفي العام التالي، انضمت إمارة رأس الخيمة للاتحاد.

وقد شهدت دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة منذ تأسيسها تطوراً هائلاً في كافة المجالات الاقتصادية، وبكل المقاييس التنموية؛ حيث تمت إعادة هيكلة الاقتصاد الوطني من الاعتماد على صيد اللؤلؤ والإنتاج الزراعي المحدود خلال المراحل الأولى من بناء الدولة. وفي مرحلة لاحقة تم تنويع الاقتصاد بعيداً عن الاعتماد على إنتاج النفط، لتتحول الإمارات العربية المتحدة إلى دولة متنوعة النشاطات الإنتاجية متجهة نحو نموذج اقتصادي عالمي ناشئ قائم على المعرفة وطاقة المستقبل. وقد انتقل مواطني الإمارات العربية المتحدة من مرحلة العوز إلى مصاف أعلى مستويات الدخل على الصعيد العالمي، كما شهدت الدولة تطوراً عقارياً رائداً استحوذ على اهتمام جميع دول العالم.

وتؤكد الإحصائيات الأخيرة التطور الهائل الذي شهدته دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، والتي وضعتها في مصاف الدول المتطورة، حيث أصبحت اليوم مركزاً مالياً واقتصادياً عالمياً مرموقاً.

وقد أسهمت التنمية الاقتصادية التي شهدتها الدولة بشكل كبير في تحسين وضع المواطن الإماراتي وبالأخص المرأة، حيث يكفل القانون الإماراتي فرصاً متكافئة للمرأة والرجل في مكان العمل، فضلاً عن التكافؤ في التعليم والبحث عن عمل من اختيارهم. وكان من نتيجة ذلك أن تبوأت المرأة أعلى المناصب في جميع المجالات، ومختلف مواقع اتخاذ القرار. وحازت المرأة على نسبة 22.2% من مقاعد المجلس الوطني الحالي، وهي من أعلى نسب التمثيل النسائي البرلماني في الشرق الأوسط وفق المعايير العالمية الدولية. وقد سجلت الإمارات المرتبة الأولى عربياً، وحصلت على إحدى أعلى التصنيفات العالمية في مقياس تمكين المرأة وفقاً لمؤشر التنمية المتعلق بالجنسين، في تقرير التنمية البشرية الخاص ببرنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي.

وفي مجال الطاقة، تبذل دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة جهوداً حثيثة لتنويع مصادرها من الطاقة؛ وذلك من خلال الاستثمار المكثف والواعي في "طاقة المستقبل"، ومن ضمنها الطاقة النووية والطاقة المتجددة. وفي هذا السياق، تم إطلاق مؤسسة الإمارات للطاقة النووية لتطوير الحلول المبتكرة للطاقة المتجددة والبديلة. كما خطت الدولة خطوات مهمة في برنامجها لإنتاج الطاقة النووية للأغراض السلمية، وذلك من خلال توقيع اتفاقيات التعاون النووي مع الولايات المتحدة وكوريا الجنوبية لإنشاء أربع محطات للطاقة النووية بقيمة 20.4 مليار دولار بحلول عام 2020. هذا وقد اختيرت أبوظبي عاصمة دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة في يونيو 2009، لتكون مقراً دائماً للوكالة الدولية للطاقة المتجددة (إيرينا)، لتصبح الإمارات بذلك أول دولة في الشرق الأوسط تستضيف المقر الدائم لإحدى المنظمات الدولية المهمة.

وشهدت دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة نمواً كبيراً في مجال التعليم خلال العقود الثلاثة الماضية. ففي بداية السبعينات كان هناك عدد محدود من المدارس المخصصة لتعليم البنين، مما يعني أن عدداً كبيراً من السكان لم يحصل على فرصة التعليم. أما في الوقت الراهن، فيحظى جميع مواطني الدولة من ذكور وإناث بمجانية التعليم العام عبر مراحله المختلفة، بما في ذلك توفير التعليم العام العالي مجاناً لجميع المواطنين عبر مختلف المؤسسات التعليمية المنتشرة في كل أرجاء الدولة. وقد افتتح عدد من الجامعات والمؤسسات الأكاديمية الرفيعة والمشهورة عالمياً، فروعاً لها في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة خلال السنوات الأخيرة، مما وفر فرص تعليمية بمعايير عالمية للسكان المحليين.

كما حققت الدولة نمواً بارزاً أيضاً في قطاع الخدمات الصحية؛ فقبل قيام الاتحاد كانت خدمات الرعاية الصحية محدودة للغاية، حيث كان وجود المستشفيات شبه معدوم، أما بعد قيام الاتحاد، قامت الدولة بإنشاء شبكة واسعة من المستشفيات والمراكز الصحية لتأمين الرعاية الصحية بكافة مراحلها واختصاصاتها في مختلف أرجاء الدولة. وقد انعكس هذا التطور إيجابياً على الحالة الصحية لسكان الإمارات العربية المتحدة، فشهدت البلاد انخفاض معدل وفيات الرضع والأطفال دون الخامسة من العمر، ووصل معدل وفيات الأمهات أثناء الولادة إلى الصفر، كما ارتفع متوسط العمر المتوقع للرجال والنساء بشكل كبير.